Baseball’s new rule on player interference breaking up double plays gave the Tampa Bay Rays a 3-2 win over the Jays last night.
With the bases loaded and Edwin Encarnacion at the plate withone out in the ninth inning, it appeared the Jays picked up the go-ahead run on a missed double play.
The Rays asked for a replay review, claiming Bautista violated the new rule governing slides and player interference on potential double plays.
Replay umpires ruled that Bautista did indeed slide inside the bag to illegally hinder the Rays 2nd baseman. The call was changed to a game-ending double play giving the win to Tampa Bay
Here’s the play.
After the game Blue Jays manager John Gibbons was none too impressed.